Today’s post is slightly different from my other posts as it isn’t about weddings or craft – it’s about my life.

At the end of 2010 The Boy and I decided that in 2011 we would move out of Swindon, our home town. We wanted a change and to experience new things. So I started looking for a job (The Boy is an electrician so can move wherever!) I found a really good one in London and amazingly got it. By March 2011 we were living in Watford and I was commuting. Life was good!

Four months down the line and The Boy and I were given a fantastic opportunity to relocate to Devon. We’ve always said that we’d like to settle down in Devon and (hopefully) raise a family together – cue major discussions and deliberations! What to do? Should we move? I’ve only just started my new job and am settling in well etc. Is it the right time? Should we wait? We decided that the opportunity was too great and we couldn’t turn it down.

Once more I took to the internet, scouring for jobs.  I found a job in Exeter which was right up my street. It was almost as if they wrote the job spec with me in mind. I was intimidated by it because it would be a big pay rise for me and I thought that meant I couldn’t do it, that I wasn’t good enough. It was also part-time and I wasn’t sure if that was right for me.

After talking to The Boy and my lovely family and friends I decided to apply for it. Nothing ventured, nothing gained right? Well I could have burst when I eventually got invited to interview – I was ecstatic! I came down to earth with a bump, however, as I read the interview details. I had to give a 10 minute presentation on a rather tricky and complicated subject. I panicked. I reached for my phone and text The Boy saying ‘I can’t do it.’ He replied and told me that I could, to believe in myself and that I had it in me.

I worked my butt off preparing that presentation and when the interview day came around I was so nervous. Usually I don’t get nervous in interviews so I knew I really wanted this job. Forty minutes later I was out of the interview and heading home to Watford. In the middle of  de-briefing The Boy and saying ‘oh I don’t know how I did, what if I rambled too much/babbled on about nothing/didn’t go into too much detail?’ my phone rang with a number I didn’t recognise. I answered it. It was the head of the interview panel. They loved me and they wanted to offer me the job! I gasped, squealed and talked about two octaves higher than usual. I couldn’t believe it! They phoned me 20 minutes after I left the interview room.

So here we are, just over a week and a half later and The Boy and I are busy sorting out yet another relocation. We can’t wait. We’re so excited about the future and what it holds for us.

In the meantime I’ve had a revelation – part-time wouldn’t be bad at all.  It has been a dream of mine for many years that one day I will open my own coffee shop, selling homemade cakes, amazing coffee and tea. I’ve event written myself a vision statement for my coffee shop (sad I know!)  The penny dropped. My ‘days off’ could be spent working in a coffee shop, gaining the experience and knowledge I need of what it is really like to run one. I could also spend time doing other things like baking and crafting. Hurrah!

My journey over the past month has taught me several things:

  1. Believe in yourself – They wouldn’t have offered me the job if they didn’t think I was right for it. Calling only 20 minutes after my interview is a pretty good sign that they thought I was the right person for the job. I had the skills and experience they were looking for, I just needed to believe in myself.
  2. Follow your dreams – my coffee shop may be a long way off but I am going to get there. It’s as if this part-time job was meant to be so that I could earn a living as well as start to follow my passion. I’m excited!
  3. Take risks – I could have stayed in London with my  current job because ‘I’d only just started’ but we have taken the risk that moving to Devon will pay off in the long run. We’ll have the lifestyle we want and we’ll be happier.

I feel like I should be patting myself on the back and saying ‘well done Grace, you did it!’ Recognising your achievements is a great way to feel good about yourself and to gain confidence. It has given me a great ‘can do’ attitude!

Have you ever taken a risk and followed your dreams? Have you made a change for the better? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

