I’ve been itching to bake since moving to Devon and I finally have the chance! I’m currently on a diet, so my opportunities to bake lots of sweet, calorie-laden treats are few and far between *sob sob*. Luckily I have a big team meeting at work this week and as I’m the new girl (and giving a presentation!) I thought I would try my best to impress and take some cake along to bribe them share with them.

I originally saw this recipe for Earl Grey and Lemon cake on Crunchy Bottoms blog and was salivating at the thought of it. It also helps that she had gorgeous photos to go with it!

Stephanie's cake

See? I wasn't lying!

I love Earl Grey tea and lemon cake is one of my favourite cakes to devour. Put the two together in a cake and I think you pretty much have reached perfection. Christine adds walnuts to her cake but I thought I’d leave them out this time.

Let me take you on a magical journey to the world of Earl Grey and Lemon Cake….

IngredientsCake ingredients

  • 160g cake flour (I used self raising)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tbs Earl Grey tea leaves
  • Zest of 2 lemons
  • 16g butter
  • 130g icing sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 50g honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • a pinch of salt

I fully intended to do a photo step-by-step BUT a catastrophic icing sugar explosion meant that all the photos would have been a white-out. Instead I’ll give you lovely written directions!

  1. Get your oven on! 170c/325f/gas mark 3.
  2. Line a 2lb loaf tin now rather than later. Preparation is key!
  3. Sift your flour and baking powder into a bowl. Mix in your Earl Grey tea leaves and lemon zest too. Resist the urge to stick your face in the beautifully fragrant Earl Grey/Lemony mixture. *I don’t use loose tea so measured out the leaves from tea bags. For me, one and a half tablespoons worked out to be three teabags.*
  4. In a separate bowl, cream together the butter and the icing sugar until pale and fluffy. *This is where I had my icing sugar explosion. My advice to you is to use a food processor if you have one. It will save you from the icing sugar atomic bomb cloud.*
  5. Whisk/whizz in the eggs one at a time, making sure they are well and truly mixed in before adding the next one.
  6. Add the honey, vanilla extract, flour mixture and salt. Whisk/whizz again until it has all been incorporated.
  7. Slowly spoon the mixture into the loaf tin and then slam it (gently) in the oven for about 40/45 minutes or until a clean skewer inserted into the cake comes out clean.
  8. Leave in the tin for about 15 minutes, then take it out and put it on a wire rack to cool completely. *I leave it in the tin for a bit to help the cake retain moisture and be extra delicious!*
  9. Get the kettle on, make a cuppa, cut a gigantic slice of your cake and enjoy.

This is how my cake turned out:

Grace's cake

It is a bit ‘well done’ but that’s because I got carried away writing this whilst it was in the oven and forgot to check it! I covered it in tin foil for the last 5 minutes as it was pretty brown on the top but still undercooked in the middle.

The big taste test will be today, not sure how I will resist sneaking a slice before then (I’m writing this on Tuesday) but I shall have to get The Boy to squirrel it away somewhere that I cannot reach or get to!

If you make it, let me know how you get on! Also, if you have other Earl Grey recipes, please share them with me!

Grace

