I really like loaf cakes. I like the look of them, the way you can cut a satisfylingly big slab of loaf cake to accompany your cup of tea or coffee. They are easy to make and you don’t have to fiddle around with any fancy decorations or piping if you don’t want to.  They look lovely and rustic just the way they are.

As mentioned in this week’s Monday Mention, I made a loaf cake for my sister’s birthday party get together. I wanted to continue in my quest to try out new recipes. I found a recipe for double chocolate loaf cake on the BBC Good Food website and my search was over.

Ingredients

  • 175g butter (I used margarine – shock horror!)
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs (not pictured)
  • 140g self raising flour
  • 85g ground almonds
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 100ml milk (just realised that I forgot to put this in!)
  • 4tbsp cocoa powder
  • 50g plain chocolate chips
  • small amount of white, milk and dark chocolate for the drizzle on top

The last ingredient meant that I was forced to buy a bar of each. It was torture I tell you.

Once you have all of those ready, onto the making:

  1. Put your oven on! 160C/140C fan/gas 3
  2. Line a 2lb loaf tin – my favourite lining method is to cut a long strip and have parchment ‘handles’ to lift the cake out when it is done.
  3. Whisk the butter margarine and caster sugar together until it is pale and fluffy.
  4. Add the eggs, one at a time, making sure they get incorporated into the mix.
  5. Tip in the flour, ground almonds, baking powder, cocoa powder and mix in the milk. *I sieved all the dry ingredients to make sure my cake was nice and smooth.*
  6. Stir in the plain chocolate chips and then transfer to the tin.
  7. Put it in the oven for about 45-50 minutes.
  8. Once cooked *I poke in a skewer and if it comes out clean, it’s done* leave in the tin to cool.
  9. Melt the white, milk and dark chocolate *separately of course!* and using a teaspoon, drizzle/flick the chocolate over the top of the cake. Leave to set before serving.

There you go! Do you want to see a photo of the finished article? Ok, ok…..

Ta daaaaaaaaaa! I went a bit OTT with the flicking of chocolate I think, I enjoyed it too much! Sarah Cook, who made the cake on the Good Food website managed her drizzling with more class than me:

Source: BBC Good Food

